Fittest Bowhunter In The West Challenge

23 Mar

Kryptek-Train To Hunt Challenge

I don’t know what it is about a “challenge”…but it’s really hard for me to stifle the urge to charge into battle whenever one presents it’s self. I guess it’s the same thing that drives me to push harder, just so I can see over the next ridge…even if it has nothing to do with my current game plan or if it completely distracts me from the task at hand. Maybe it comes from being “the fat kid” most of my life…the constant urge to prove myself…even if it’s only proving something to myself; I seem to gravitate towards things that I know I might fail at. But at the risk of being cliché; what doesn’t kill us, only makes us stronger.

I’ve been intrigued by the new “Adventure Race” craze that seems to be gaining popularity. I won’t lie and say that visions of Spartan Race glory or Tough Mudder bragging rights haven’t danced inside my head on occasion…because they have. But when I first started seeing online fliers and mentionings of the “Fittest Bowhunter In The West” challenge…well my ears perked up like a Jacket Russell locked onto a Rabbit! So far there are five events being held in five different cities across the West and I have committed to attending at least one of them.

It’s a two-day event that’s comprised of the race on day one and a 40-target 3D shoot on day two. The “race” portion of the event is pure genius and something the discipline of bow hunting has been needing. Regardless if you are a hard-charging type or just a passionate bowhunter looking to challenge himself (or herself) pre-season; this is just what the doctor ordered! But make no mistake; day one is no “run of the mill” 3D shoot or just a “race”…it will definitely take a little bit of prior preparation  if you plan to make a decent showing of yourself (think: running + physical challenges/obstacles + shooting your bow)…and the $100 entry fee marks the event as anything but casual.

Event map

The main sponsor is the Krptek Outdoor Group http://www.kryptek.com/ and the prizes are TBA…but I’m thinking that there are some huge winnings at stake! But regardless of the prize or where you might place; it’s all about the challenge and pushing yourself harder, stepping outside of your comfort zone and striving to be more prepared come hunting season. And it sounds like a great time will be had in the process.

So if you happen to be competing alongside of me at one of the events and see me slowing down or missing targets…just holler that there is food at the finish line, or that for every 10-ring scored, they’re handing out doughnuts. Thanks in advance and I’ll make sure to return the favor in some fashion.

Check out the event and course details here: http://traintohunt.com/challenges/#.UU0uhdzn_cs

One Response to “Fittest Bowhunter In The West Challenge”

  1. Tom Foster December 16, 2014 at 7:35 pm #

    I participated in two events in 2014. I came away with some great new friends and a band of brotherhood. Great group of folks and if Tennessee wasn’t so far away I would be a life member. Prepare for it like its your super bowl because every one else that will be returning in 2015 will be. Just do it. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

