The Back Trail Welcomes Sitka Gear Pro Staffer Chad Bell!

30 Aug

I got the hunting bug when I was fifteen after my best friend and his dad took me on my first whitetail hunt. Thanksgiving morning 1988, I killed my first whitetail and I haven’t stopped hunting since that time. I now look forward to September every year, as that is the start of the hunting seasons in the south. Dove and teal are part of my early season ritual and get me going until the October 1st opener of archery.

Here at The Back Trail, our philosophy is that “everyone enjoys the outdoors in their own way, everyone has their own hunt”. That being said, we are more than honored to have Chad Bell along to walk the trails with us, share his experiences and allow us to see the outdoors through his eyes. You may know Chad personally, or perhaps you have heard of him through his affiliation with Sitka Gear, either way you’ll know that he is as humble as he is accomplished and a very fine role model for the entire hunting industry.  We are proud to call him our friend.

Welcome to the campfire, Chad.

I got the hunting bug when I was fifteen after my best friend and his dad took me on my first whitetail hunt.  Thanksgiving morning 1988, I killed my first whitetail and I haven’t stopped hunting since that time.  I now look forward to September every year as that is the start of the hunting seasons in the south.  Dove and teal are part of my early season ritual and get me going until the October 1st opener of archery.

I have taken several whitetails in my life and enjoy the thrill of the hunt, the preparation, the serenity of being in the outdoors and enjoying God’s creations.  My father was not a hunter growing up so I spent a lot of time with my best friend, Jack Thomas, and his family in the woods.  They taught me numerous things about hunting and the outdoors and it has gone so far as to get me into waterfowl and turkey hunting as well.  Some of my best memories have been made while sharing a cold, crisp morning with some buddies in a duck blind and in the spring woods chasing gobblers and it never gets old.

My interest and passion for the outdoors and the hunting discipline has led me to become a part of the best Pro Staff in the hunting industry.  Sitka Gear and GORE OPTIFADE have allowed me to increase my opportunities for success in the field and be affiliated with an outstanding group of hunters, athletes and stewards of conservation.  It has brought me a level of awareness that passing on what we know to the younger generation is so important to the future of this passion that we share for the outdoors.

I couldn’t have thought of anything that I would have enjoyed more over the last 23 years than to be a hunter, an outdoorsman, a conservationist and manager of that which is not ours but that which we are blessed to be able to borrow, use, enjoy and share with others.  Leave it better than you found it.

I am a student of the outdoor discipline.

ChadBell
Sitka Gear Pro Staff
Gore OPTIFADE Pro Team
GORE-TEX Hunting Tech

This fine buck was taken just prior to Chad joining the Sitka Gear Pro Staff. According to Chad, using the Sitka Gear systems, that utilizes the Optifade patterns scientifically designed by WL GORE and Associates, not only has it allowed  him to hunt longer in harsh conditions, but has allowed him to get closer and go undetected by his quarry more than ever before!

3 Responses to “The Back Trail Welcomes Sitka Gear Pro Staffer Chad Bell!”

  1. Dale Pearson August 30, 2011 at 4:16 am #

    Very nice Chad! You definitely ARE a great role model and I’m proud to know you.

  2. Chad Bell August 30, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    Thanks Luke! Glad to be a part of something with you buddy! I have created some great relationships through my affiliation with Sitka and Gore and I would never have imagined how truly remarkable being a part of the outdoor world and making friendships would go together. I thank you and everyone else that I am able to communicate with for helping me learn about hunting in places and animals that I have never hunted. One day when I get the opportunity, I think I will already know a good bit of what to do and what not to do!

Leave a Reply

